Minolta-35 … same model, different parts?

I was just looking over the camera’s that I have taken apart, and just realized that some components are different on one of them.

I know there were slight changes over time from my readings, and especially of Paul Sokk’s site about the Minolta , four of the the ones that I have are model II type a1, so I assumed they have the same parts … and two type b1.

Serial # 35xx (x2), 37xxx, 47xxx, 55xxx, and an 80xxx

The 35xxx and 37xxx have almost identical internals … the only difference is that the 35xxx bottom plate and body cover is not notched on the winder side.

The 47 has some internal differences … I am going to guess that the type a2 and b1 models also have this … ?

  • Viewfinder diopter collar design changed. It is is multiple parts, so the top cover no longer has a screw/hole on the side to secure it.
  • Self-timer engagement plate is slightly different (minor)
  • Rewind release gear has a different shaped post and has been placed forward … which also means the top gear place is different.
  • Curtain spring rollers are brass (minor)
  • Half of the gears are not brass (minor)

The 55xxx, and the b1 80xxx (which I do not have anymore, but I was just looking at some images I took of it) are comparible to the a1 47xxx.

The 55xxx is the only one that has a completely different mechanism to trigger the flash. It is not just a rotating gear.

Soooo, you if you are looking for a model II parts camera, you may want to keep an eye on the serial# depending on what parts you need.

I also like to note the bottom (not the cover plate) is stamped 393, 434, Z 373, P 138, and Z 980 … I have no idea what this means.

For those that have debated (noted on Paul’s site) about the frame width changes on the various Minolta-35 models … I used a caliper to measure two model II’s frame plate opening, and they have a frame size of 23.4 x 33.8mm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.