Back IIF

Yeah, I haven’t posted much in a while. This winter has put the kobosh on doing much mentally. I have not picked up any “new” cameras for restoration, so I have kinda lost momentum.

Well it appears the my Canon IIF rangefinder was not all as it seemed to be … so I will be next posting further disassembly of it. This should be a good thing, as I cannot seem to find much information about taking this specific camera apart, so this would be handy for those that want to go through it.

… now, I just have to get my ass off the couch.

3 responses to “Back IIF

  • grahamlander

    I am working on the same camera, I have new shutter curtains now, but I havent gone through the process of setting the timing so i would love to see how you do that.

    • Dennis

      Nope, can’t say I have dealt with that yet.
      How was the shutter replacement process ?

      • grahamlander

        I can say that I never want to do that again. Making the shutters was simple but getting them on the rollers in the exact locations was unpleasant. I must have removed and replaced the roller assembly cage 25 times. The thing that got me was the little bushings/washers between the spindles and the frames and roller surfaces. I usually found them on the table but never saw them fall off. Look under each plate with axle stubs and between the ribbon idle rollers and curtain spools for washers stuck on from oil before setting them down. The washers can be easily camouflaged.
        You know this already, but take pictures of the positions of the rollers, the shutter release mechanism on top and from the bottom in cocked and released positions for a few angles at several shutter speed selections. Do that pre and post shutter cock and release. Make some very obvious fairly deep marks in the brass curtain spools, light ones disappear when cleaning the old glue off.
        Finally, if your curtains arent stiff nor have holes, just oil the roller points and hope. The guide plates both top and bottom that hold the curtains down can be removed without removing the curtains from the rollers, just in case its just dirt you can clean out.

Leave a Reply

