Time … is not on my side, yes it is?

Tech tip … do not take apart something and leave it in pieces for 8 years!!!

So, today I am putting one of my Minolta-35’s back together … and I don’t remember what screws and parts go where. Yeah, I took notes and pictures, but back in the oldn days I was not that detailed in documenting.

Hmm, now were did all those tiny screws end up? I did place all the parts in a compartmentalized plastic thing … but it seems that there are too many things missing? Question is, were they there to begin with?

Reminders to my future self …

Film counter dial … small washer, then larger collar, then larger washer, then dial, then screw on the knob, enough to let the dial rotate … then tighten grub screw.

When taking off a lens mount ring make a serious effort to note if there where the shims, and where they are … mark the top of the ring.

Don’t leave things unfinished soooo long. Finish what you started.

Now I just remembered that one of the bodies was specifically purchased for parts as it was incomplete.

One thought on “Time … is not on my side, yes it is?”

  1. I have the same model Minolta sitting mostly apart since I purchased it a few years back with missing curtains. I may purchase another one and document how the arraignment is with the curtains installed

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.