One mis-step and you’re filed !!

Ok, so I’ma testing the TKS shutter on my Frank Six to see how off they are … hey its old and tired … most of the speeds are within 1/4 stop, except for 1/10s which is too fast.

The shutter on this camera is a Gauthier Prontor type copy. From what I have learned about these leaf shutters there are certain speeds that engage a pallet and retard, on this shutter the 1/10s is the fastest one that engages both, so that means some lever is not being engaged.

OK, the first thing to do is …

Get down to the speed cam.

The pallet and retard mechanism is really what we are hunting for.

Lets take a closer look underneath

Ok so some arrows to point the way … I fired the shutter and noted what moved.

Ok, so putting the speed cam back on I fired the shutter and watched those points that engage it at the different speeds … especially below and above 1/10s.

OK, so the cam setting for 1/10s sits on the noted post on the cam … and I noticed that it does not travel very far to keep the timing.

So I filed a bit off … checked the speed … filed a bit more off, and then suddenly I got 1/10s !!!

This is one of the things noted in the National Camera Course material … sometimes you have to physically modify the cam to get the speed correct.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.