Babble .. on

I feel like typing something …

Ok, so I am going to tell you a bit more about me.

Long, long ago in a land far away … no, that’s not right … A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away … nope, that’s not true either … ok, it was many years ago.

My beginnings that started this blog originates with my father. I was introduced with building/fixing thing from him. I grew up in a house with a basement full of tools. I played with tools, which was a really cool thing. Most importantly I was curious … so curious that I wanted to know what happens if you loop a wire into an electrical outlet … or how high can you build a fire with petroleum products.

I was lucky enough to go through an education system that had programs that introduced me, early on, to metal and wood work. This continued through to high school … I still remember my metal shop teacher saying “sal ammoniac”.

My start with photography happened in highschool with an interest in Astronomy. I really wanted to get a telescope … but for some reason I ended up buying an SLR camera kit (a Canon T70) from Astro Photography. Later on in life, through a family connection, I got a job working at Japan Camera Centre as a salesperson. I wasn’t all that great at sales, as I really only cared about the equipment. I ended up spending more than a decade there, working myself up to managing one of their stores. As a photographer one of the best things to do is work at a camera store … you can buy stuff at cost price … and also get introduced a lot equipment.

Another piece of luck was my wife. We worked together at JCC and eventually got together … ahh, those were the days. I was also introduced to a new friend, through my wife who worked at Silvano Colour Lab, Craig … I think he was like me, but many years before me and he knew everything about fixing and making things that were beyond my knowledge, he is one reason why I started this blog … I wanted to pass on my experiences, like the information that both he and my father passed on to me. In some way I am not actively refurbishing cameras for myself, if I did it would only be for few cameras that I would use myself … not for the purpose of just refurbishing them. I have to give credit to the Internet for allowing me to share this information to all of you.

Hmmm, I’ve gotten bored with writing now … or I have lost interest in caring on with this topic … so long and thanks for all the fish … the end.

One response to “Babble .. on

  • Louis

    No babbling. Enjoy your posts to death. Just picked up an old Voigtlander Bessa 1. It has been CLA’d and works beautifully. Color Skopar lens.

Leave a Reply

